Jerusalem Artichoke Mash

 

With the Jerusalem Artichokes I picked up the other day from the  downtown market I sauted half of them with some broccoli and parmesan, and with the other half I decided to make a quick side for the next day’s meal.

I’m all about breaking up the work in cooking and having a side or two already done makes getting dinner together much easier (dare I say more feasible?).

While my first half of Jerusalem Artichokes were sizzling in a pan on the stove I put these together in no time. The reward was much greater than the work.

I’m a mashed potatoe lover, honestly I love potatoes in any form. I was so surprised when I found that this combination (which is equal parts potatoe and Jerusalem Artichoke) was actually better than any mashed potato I’d ever made or had.

So good, so easy.

What You’ll Need:

  • Jerusalem Artichokes-chopped*
  • Potatoes-chopped*
  • Sour Cream
  • Butter
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Green Onions/Garlic Shoots

*I used an even amount of Jerusalem Artichoke and Potato

Although the flavor was fantastic I did find that the texture was a little inconsistent. The Jerusalem Artichokes are crunchier than potatoes, and next time I think I’ll use a ricer instead of a masher to even it out.

I let mine cool and kept it in the pot in the fridge overnight. The next day I quickly reheated it on the stove, adding a little sour cream to loosen it.

I’m definitely picking up more Jerusalem Artichokes so that I can make more of this.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

